Damned- Chuck Palahniuk Review

8/11/2022 1:22 PM

Rating: 2/5 stars

[Did Not Finish]

Note- I call him Chuck a lot in this review. I know it's bad form, but there are only so many times you can look up a man's last name before you just give up and take the easy way out.

What is intended to be a scathing parody on the young adult genre as a whole instead falls into some of the worst traps of the genre. The writing is repetitive- Chuck seems to have at most three jokes at his disposal, which he reuses with extreme prejudice. They are:

  • “Yes, I know the word [x]. I'm thirteen, not stupid.“
  • A reference to The Breakfast Club, followed by Chuck immediately pointing out that he was referencing The Breakfast Club
  • Seminal fluid

The second bullet point highlights a...

Read More

An Objective Ranking of Every Musical I Have Ever Listened To

11/4/21 11:34 AM

Yeah, sue me, I used to be a theatre kid. The passive listener kind, not the actor kind- something that also perfectly sums up the whole of my high school career. The most involved I’ve ever gotten was sneaking out of gym to go see the school’s dress rehearsal of Chicago, which has got to hold the world record for the single nerdiest way to cut a class. I should stop fucking around with websites and call up Guiness already. Does being too lame for theatre somehow wrap around to make you cool again? I’m currently writing blog posts for a mad-science themed Neocities site, so I guess we all know the answer.

I started my career as an incelibate virgin with Be More Chill, an...

Read More